Translations of this page:

Inverse Problems

inversiologo.jpg

Our laboratory is a part of the Finnish Center of Excellence in Inverse Problems research, nominated by the Academy of Finland. We study various computational methods for combining modelling and measurements; an underlying 'practical' aim is to develop tools to analyze the reliability of model predictions. Parameter Estimation, Inverse Problems and Data Assimilation are somewhat overlapping concepts used in different scientific communities. Parameter estimation typically refers to the identification of a finite set of model parameters, while inverse problems often deal with the estimation of continuous profiles or functions. A prime example for data assimilation is weather prediction: online identification and prediction of the state of a large dynamical system. All the concepts are relevant to us. Especially, we focus on the following generic topics.

The ongoing applied projects include

People

This is the list of people currently working in the projects:

Name Status Special area Contact
Heikki Haario Prof., PhD research leader heikki.haario@lut.fi
Tuomo Kauranne PhD data assimilation tuomo.kauranne@lut.fi
Harri Auvinen PhD advanced Kalman filtering hauvinen@cc.helsinki.fi
Virpi Junttila PhD Bayesian nets virpi.junttila@lut.fi
Marko Laine PhD MCMC methods marko.laine@fmi.fi
Jouni Sampo PhD Wavelets jouni.sampo@lut.fi
Antti Solonen PhD Monte Carlo methods antti.solonen@lut.fi
Tapio Leppälampi MSc Bayesian methods tapio.leppalampi@lut.fi
Jere Heikkinen MSc Inverse Problems jere.heikkinen@lut.fi
Kalle Riihimäki MSc Heat Transfer kalle.riihimaki@lut.fi



villinki_big.jpg
Part of the team at Villinki, Helsinki. Antti Solonen (left), Harri Auvinen, Tapio Leppälampi, Heikki Haario, Marko Laine and Tuomo Kauranne (right).

Collaboration

  • UNIVERSITY OF HELSINKI, DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS
  • HELSINKI UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY, DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS
  • UNIVERSITY OF KUOPIO, DEPARTMENT OF APPLIED PHYSICS
  • UNIVERSITY OF OULU, SODANKYLÄ GEOPHYSICAL OBSERVATORY
  • TAMPERE UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY
  • FINNISH METEOROLOGICAL INSTITUTE
  • FINNISH ENVIRONMENTAL INSTITUTE
  • FINNISH MARINE RESEARCH INSTITUTE
  • UNIVERSITY OF VARESE, ITALY
  • UNIVERSITY OF MONTANA, MISSOULA, USA


 
/opt/webdata/webroot/wiki/data/pages/en/technomathematics/inverse_problems/start.txt · Last modified: 2015/04/22 15:39 by h3902
[unknown button type]
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki